LIVE UPDATE: South Africa’s local election results – 64% complete

South Africa’s August 3 local elections was seen as one of the most keenly contested polls in recent years.

It pitched the ruling Africa National Congress (ANC) against the leading opposition Democratic Alliance (DA) and the thrid force, Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) led by former ANC youth leader, Julius Malema.

Results from the Independent Electoral Commission have been trickling in from different parts of the country even as vote counting continues in other places. The polls are seen as a barometer of the ANC’s wider popularity two decades after the end of apartheid.

With 64% of results transmitted, the breakdown looks as follows:

Africa National Congress (ANC)
Councils won = 28
Seats = 1,417
Votes = over 8.5 million (52.66% support)
Democratic Alliance (DA)
Councils won = 7
Seats = 493
Votes = over 4.5 million (28.16% support)
Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)
Councils won = 0
Seats = 46
Votes = over 1.1 million (7.3% support)
Police chief lauds ‘incident-free’ process

The high stakes election was characterized by deadly violence in the lead up to August 3, but the voting went peacefully and the Acting National Police Commissioner Lieutenant-General Kgomotso Phahlane expressed gratitude for the cooperation of the people:

“As the South African Police Service we are very grateful of the executions of our plan. We did communicate our plans to the nation pre-, during- and post- elections.

We committed ourselves to deliver a safe and secure local government elections 2016 and our members did us proud and they delivered that.

We had an incident-free election process. We are grateful to the South Africans who responded positively to our call when we asked them to corporate and work together with the police.”

ANC releases statement on polls, confident of decisive victory

The ruling ANC have released a statement describing the August 3 elections as a ‘resounding success.’

1. They congratulated all South Africans for coming out peacefully to cast their votes.
2. The ANC is encouraged by the results that have come in so far.
Deputy Secretary General Jessie Duarte said: “We are expecting to do well. Everything we’ve done during our campaigning was speaking directly to the real issues that people are concerned about.”
3. ANC will continue to monitor results coming from the IEC and that they are targeting a decisive victory. “We are confident our people have spoken and reaffirmed that the ANC is the only party that can bring change to South Africa,” the statement concluded.

ANC thanks its supporters, claims 27 of 34 councils so far

“ANC expresses gratitude to all South Africans who voted. ANC thanks South Africa for the trust bestowed on us in 27 of 34 councils completed thus far,” tweet read.

Electoral body, IEC, briefing press

IEC says 77.8% of results for the polls had been captured.
In terms of Section 5(1)(n) of the Electoral Commission Act, IEC SouthAfrica must declare results within 7 days after elections.
IEC deployed 200,000 election officials to oversee conduct of the polls.
99% of results from Northern Cape finalized, only outstanding are a few wards in Sol Plaatjie Munic.
In the Western Cape 84% completed, Eastern Cape almost 80% completed & Free State 74% completed. Mpumalanga 60% of results were completed.
Both Kwa-Zulu Natal & North West reported 55% complete. Gauteng & Limpopo had completed +- 47%
*All results as at 10 am GMT
Opposition DA leads in Nelson Mandela Bay

The leading opposition Democratic Alliance are leading in Nelson Mandela Bay municipality. They have 53% as against the ANC’s 37% with 62% votes counted so far.

Ruling party wins in Jacob Zuma’s town of Nkandla

The ruling ANC wins in Nkandla – the rural area from where President Jacob Zuma comes. The area was hitherto held by the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP).

The Democratic Alliance thanks its supporters

Facts worth noting about the local elections

The last local elections (also known a municipal elections) were held in 2011.

Democratic national and provincial elections have taken place every five years starting in 1994.

The country has 9 provinces. They are the Northern Cape, North West, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Kwa-Zulu Natal, Free State, Western Cape and Eastern Cape provinces.

The largest metropolitan areas are governed by metropolitan municipalities, while the rest of the country is divided into district municipalities, each of which consists of several local municipalities.

South Africa’s local government is currently made up of eight metropolitan municipalities, 44 district municipalities, and 207 local municipalities.

The eight metropolitan municipalities are:

Buffalo City (East London): 392,021 registered voters
City of Cape Town: 1,883,592 registered voters
City of Johannesburg: 2,152,112 registered voters
City of Tshwane (Pretoria): 1,434,931 registered voters
Ekurhuleni (East Rand): 1,520,553 registered voters
Ethekwini (Durban): 1,800,492 registered voters
Mangaung (Bloemfontein): 393,629 registered voters
Nelson Mandela Bay (Port Elizabeth): 580,254 registered voters
These are IEC figures as at September 2015

Written by Abel Abel

Abel Abel is your leading blog that focus on breaking news, entrepreneurship and relationship

Leave a Reply